Russian State University
of Justice

Russian State University of Justice

“Judges ought to remember that their office is jus dicere, and not jus dare—to interpret law, and not to make law, or give law”. Francis Bacon

Russian State University of Justice was established by the Decree of the President of the Russian Federation 11 May 1998 for the purpose of teaching, training and qualifying Russian judges and court officials. The university was founded by the Supreme Court of the Russian Federation and the Supreme Commercial Court of the Russian Federation, the latter dissolved in 2014 with its functions and authority transferred to the Supreme Court. All judges of modern Russia have once mastered their profession and passed qualification exams in Russian State University of Justice.

Today Russian State University of Justice is one of the largest universities in Russia and defenitely the biggest law school in the country. Its headquaters are based in Moscow, while eleven branches offer the same quality professional education in Saint Petersburg, Simferopol, Nizhny Novgorod, Kazan, Krasnodar, Rostov-on-Don,Voronezh, Irkutsk, Chelyabinsk, Tomsk and Khabarovsk.

There are five faculties in Russian State University of Justice, all related to various aspects of legal studies. The Faculty of Law offers full time undergraduate and postgraduate programs with specialization in all spheres of national and international law. The Distance Learning Faculty welcomes law students who are already employed but yet desire to receive a law degree. The Faculty of Consecutive Education, which includes vocational secondary education followed by law school, is meant for students who choose law as their profession even before high school. The Faculty of Economics offers various bachelor and master degree programs in the field of business and management. The Faculty of Higher Qualification supervises PhD programms of the university.

The University is a signatory to a number of cooperation agreements with international organizations. The most fruitful results are achieved together with London University, the University of Belgrade, the University of Cologne, Paris West University Nanterre La Défense, Ikh Zasag International University, United Nations Institute for Training and Research, Emory University and University of San Diego. The scope of the agreements includes international traineeship for students and inviting foreign professors to Russia. European Commission, French Embassy in Russia, British Council, Russian-American Judicial Partnership, German Fund for International Judicial Co-operation and Russian-Canadian Judicial Partnership have been permanent international partners of RSUJ for many years.

Together with the foreign partners the University has held a great number of international seminars and conferences. The University’s delegations have studied training systems for judges and lawyers at the Council of Europe, National Masters School of France, Federal Judicial Center in the USA, National Center for State Courts in the USA, The National Judicial College in the USA, Judges Training Center in the Netherlands, Spanish Judicial School, Judges Training Center in Portugal, German Judicial Academy, Judicial Studies Council in the UK, High Magistracy Council in Italy, European Academy for Law and Legislation and many others.